Richmond was first settled in 1842 but wasn’t named until twelve years later.
In 1854, local tailor George Snow, named the settlement after his home Richmond on Thames near London.
By this time the town had developed with churches, shops and businesses surrounding the town’s main road, Queen Street.
Bakers, butchers, coopers, shoemakers, pubs, hotels and general stores lined the street.
The Star and Garter Hotel was established on Queen St in 1843, a year after the area was settled.
Queen St was also home to the Railway Hotel and Mr Canning’s paddock which later became Richmond Park.
The park began hosting the town’s agricultural show in 1876, seven years before the first of the now-iconic A&P shows.
In 1994 Queen St became even more of a central social hub with the unveiling of the 800 kg sundial that is the centre piece of Sundial Square.