All Black and 2019 Mako skipper David Havili was selected in the midfield. Photo: Shuttersport

Fans vote for Mako dream team


The Tasman Rugby Union recently polled its Facebook fans to determine the greatest Mako XV of all time.

Fans were given five options in each position with the most votes making it into the final lineup.

The individual position selections were made by TRU staff and picked on the basis of where they played the majority of their games.

The bench is comprised of players with the second highest number of votes.

Here is the Mako dream team. Image: Supplied

A plethora of Mako legends were in the mix for selection but didn’t make the cut including Kade Poki, Chris Jack, James Marshall and Lucky Mulipola

Arguably the most competitive position was blindside which saw Liam Squire prevail over All Black Shannon Frizell, Ethan Blackadder, Pete Samu and Jack Lam.

Another difficult choice came at loose head prop with Tim Perry eking out a win over Wyatt Crockett, Kane Hames and Siosiua Halanukonuka.

Commercial and marketing manager Les Edwards says it is an impressive lineup.

“It’s a demonstration that over 14 seasons some outstanding rugby players have played for the Mako.”

He says some quality players from the current crop were unlucky to make the starting 15 with the likes of Alex Nankivell, Finlay Christie, Pari Pari Parkinson, Andrew Makalio and Will Jordan.

“These guys will be superstars in the future, and it will be interesting to see if in next five years if these players are top of mind.”

Les says he has been missing rugby and is excited it’s on the radar again.

“Obviously Tasman Rugby are very pleased we will get club rugby in June, age grade in July, Farah Palmer Cup in August and the Mitre 10 Cup 10 in September.”

The team:

1. Tim Perry 70 caps

2. Quenten McDonald 78 caps

3. Tyrel Lomax 29 caps

4. Alex Ainley 92 caps

5. Joe Wheeler 80 caps

6. Liam Squire 47 caps

7. Shane Christie 72 caps

8. Jordan Taufua 30 caps

9. Kahn Fotuali’i 37 caps

10. Marty Banks 40 caps

11. James Lowe 47 caps

12. David Havili 53 caps

13. Kieron Fonotia 65 caps

14. Tima Faingaanuku 36 caps

15. Robbie Malneek 104 caps

Bench: Andrew Makalio, Ben Franks, Wyatt Crockett, Quinten Strange, Ethan Blackadder, Jimmy Cowan, Mitch Hunt, Will Jordan.