Nelson City Council will welcome six new councillors this term. Photo: Kate Russell.

Meet your new councillors


Nelson has embraced change around the council table and voted on six new councillors after Saturday’s election.

Seasoned councillor Pete Rainey is making a comeback after a break last term and Trudie Brand has secured a place after narrowly missing out in 2016.

We have our youngest ever councillor in Rohan O’Neill-Stevens at 19 years of age as well as community champion Yvonne Bowater.

Former Tasman councillor Judene Edgar has earned spot, alongside Rachel Sanson, who was the highest polling councillor.

The six newcomers will be joined by returning councillors Matt Lawrey, Mel Courtney, Kate Fulton, Gaile Noonan, Tim Skinner and Brian McGurk.