Daniel Jenkins 24c gets serious air time on qualifying night. Photo: Tom Laney/Imagepress.

Former Waimea driver wins TQ title


The rain held off long enough at Milestone Homes Top of the South Speedway for Jeremy Webb to win the Walker Engineering NZ Three Quarter Midget Title on Saturday night.

The former Waimea College student now races out of Christchurch but is a regular visitor to Nelson. It was a busy weekend for Webb who had double duties on finals night as he was also defending his South Island Midget title, which was won by Dave Kerr.

But it was the TQ that was the big prize on offer and Webb was the car to catch after breaking the lap record at practice. He lead on points after qualifying night and won the six lap top eight dash to decide grid positions for the 30 lap final. He didn’t have the best start as he was passed on the opening lap by Auckland’s Ryan Barry. But Webb snuck underneath to grab the lead, and he edged away before cautiously threading his way through lap traffic. It meant the chasing pack closed in and it was 15a of Ryan Baker that latched onto the rear bumper of Webb for the last five laps. While still trying to move round the slower traffic, Webb held his nerve on the final lap to win the title by a car length. It was an epic final race with no stoppages and all 24 cars finishing.

Jeremy Webb.
Jeremy Webb.

Jeremy’s title goes with the two that his father Dick won, in Nelson in 1996 and at Ruapuna in 1992.

The Nelson club were represented with six cars in the final. Club champion Alicia MacLauchlan was the best, coming home in 9th, with Dylan Stone-Cuthbert, Darkie Armstrong, Jayden Corkill, Morgan Frost and Luke Dilworth all completing the 30 lap feature.

There were 10 qualifying races on the first night with 9 different winners amongst the 45 drivers competing. Nine was also the number of rollovers during the night with local George Crosbie going over twice and Christchurch’s Daniel Jenkins flying to the top of the safety fence. Local Shane Robertson won the first heat of the night, but lost his chain in the second.

Other results: Youth Ministocks best pair’s winners were Caleb Jessop and Hadley Boyce, while Alex Hill is the closed club Super Stock champion after surviving some last race battles.