Chris Heywood competes in the Tasman Wheelers Club Championships Time Trial, at the Mt Heslington Circuit in Brightwater. Photo: Barry Whittnall/Shuttersport.

Club champs show plenty of talent


The Tasman Wheelers cycling club held their club championships time trial and road race over the weekend.

The time trial near Brightwater on Saturday featured several big names of the sport in Nelson including Tour de France rider George Bennett.

His time over the 27.6km of 34 minutes and 40 seconds proved too hot to handle. Ethan Batt won the boys under-23 section with a time of 38.12 while Michaela Kerr won the women’s under-23 event in 44.14.

Britney Kerr won the girls under-19 16km time trial in 25.48.

She was 20 seconds ahead of Niamh Fisher-Black, who in turn was almost four minutes ahead of Marie Peart.

Katie Batt and Kaio Lart won their respective under-15 categories, while masters men’s categories were also decided.

In Sunday’s women’s road race, Niamh prevailed in the 74km under-19 girls race in two hours 10 minutes and 48 seconds.

Karen Fulton won the senior women’s race while Michaela made it two wins from two attempts in the under-23 category.

George won the 82km senior men’s road race in 2.07.25,  more than two minutes clear of Brad Tilby with Robin Reid third. Waimea’s Henry Jaine won the under-23 category in 2.10.46, while Finn Black won the under-17 race in 2.10.57.