Nelson's local heroes were honoured at a medal ceremony on Friday night at Petite Fleur.

Local heroes honoured for services to the community


On Friday night everyday people doing exceptional things were the toast of the town as Nelson honoured its very own ‘local heroes.’

The event was part of the 2017 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards and saw 12 winners presented with medals at a ceremony held at Petite Fleur.

The recipients were Ian Watts, Gillian Wratt, Megan Rutledge, Miaolin Li, Haden McCrorie, Mark Wentworth, Alan Kissell, Henk Visker, Anne-Marie Fowke-Stayner, Jennifer Amosa and Paul Le Gros.

Nelson City councillor Mel Courtney was on hand to present the medals. He congratulated the award winners on their achivement and said that it was vital that the community continued to acknowledge the contributions they have made.

“Many of these medal winners are unsung heroes whose selflessness has had a profound effect on the lives of so many in the community. Those acts of charity, optimism and commitment are the glue that hold a community together and as a community we must stand alongside one another and give thanks for their efforts.”

The Kiwibank Local Hero awards are now New Zealand’s premier community award and give thanks to those providing a positive contribution to their region, town, suburb or community. Nearly 350 medals will be presented nationwide during November and December.

The 2017 New Zealander of the Year Awards are presented in six award categories.  The overall winner for each category will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala in February 2017.

In December, the judging panel – comprising representatives of all the awards patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts – will announce the 10 semi-finalists for the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year and supporting categories which include the Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year, University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year, Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year, The Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year and Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year.