Waimea College's top sports awards winners, from left, Caitlyn Delany, Caleb Delany and Holly Chandler at Friday night's awards. Photo: Louise Smulian.

Waimea College honours top athletes


Swimmers, adventure racers, volleyballers, softballers and cyclists were the stars of another high-achieving year of sport at Waimea College that produced a steady stream of national titles and representatives.

Those five sports accounted for 25 of the 30 athletes who received ceremonial caps at the school’s annual sports prize-giving last Friday. The capped athletes, including swimmer Caitlin Delany who received the Glue Family Cup for the Greatest Achievement in Sport, had either competed for national teams or won national titles.

Waimea’s director of sport Daniel Hobbs says he is delighted with the high number of new caps which “is direct reflection of all the hard work the students and their coaches put into their sports”.

“There is a whole lot of good work being done out in the community that was recognised at our awards. Look at Josh Kelly, he only played in one tournament for the school and the rest of it was up to his club coaches.

“There’s also heaps of good stuff going on in the school. We have the national men’s volleyball coach (Colin Redpath) coaching the boys team and Ed Book taking the girls basketball so you can’t get any better than that.

“We also have Dayna (Whiting) and Josh (Ovsenek) coaching the girls volleyball and the multisport teams are mentored and coached by Marcus Swain and Jane Orbell who are both super-keen. We are very lucky to have all those people working in the school – their impact is huge.”

Daniel is also pleased that Waimea continues to excel in a wide range of sports with the top boys and girls individual awards going to athletes involved in seven different sports. The Girls Prefect Cup was won by Holly Chandler who played for the A netball, volleyball, basketball and beach volleyball teams and was the girls track and field champion while the Errol Beattie Cup for all round excellence in sport went to Caleb Delany who played for the softball and rugby teams – the Sports Team of the Year was awarded to the boys Coast2Coast team of Cameron Jones, Daniel Reid and Finn Mitchell.

Another 18 students were recognised by Sport Tasman on Friday for being the best secondary school athletes in their sport in Nelson and Tasman. The awards were won by Amiee Book (basketball), Matt Heyward (beach volleyball), Bridie Edwards (cross-country), Shania Kuipers (hockey), Livy Guyton (shooting), Scott Green (shooting), Josh Kelly (softball), Sam McKenzie (swimming), Maddie Mitchell (triathlon), Tane MacDonald (volleyball) and the Get2Go Adventure Racing team (Team of the Year). New Zealand under-17 pitcher Josh Kelly was named Tasman’s Sportsman of the Year.

Jeremy Lordan, Michael Stringer, Callum Whitten and Tyler Power received commemorative jerseys in recognition of achieving 50 games for the First XV at Friday’s awards.

The First XI boys football team was recognised for winning the AHI Trophy and the division two title at the national secondary school champs while the girls hockey team won the Audrey Timlin Tournament.

The guest speaker at the awards was former pupil George Bennett who also enjoyed a big year riding in his first Tour de France and Olympics.