Mayor Rachel Reese at her campaign launch at the Boat Shed earlier this month. Photo: Andrew Board.

Latest: Reese beats Rainey


Rachel Reese has been re-elected as mayor of Nelson this afternoon, winning big over the other candidates.

The first-term mayor received 10,611 votes, defeated her major rival Pete Rainey who gained 4500 votes, as well as Graeme O’Brien with 1714 votes and Richard Osmaston with 397 votes.

It is the first time since 2004 that a Nelson mayor has been re-elected when Paul Matheson served his final term in the city’s top job.

The confirmed council candidates polled in the following order: Tim Skinner,  Brian McGurk, Mike Rutledge,  Paul Matheson, Matt Lawrey,  Gaile Noonan, Bill Dahlberg,  Luke Acland,  Ian barker, Stuart Walker, Mel Courtney and Trudie Brand.

More to come.