Nelson mayor Rachel Reese at the first Nelson City Council meeting of the new term on Thursday afternoon. Photo: Andrew Board.

Matheson retained as deputy mayor


Paul Matheson has been reappointed as the city’s deputy mayor at the first Nelson City Council meeting of the new term.

Councillors have also been officially sworn in at the meeting at Civic House, which started at 4pm today. It is the first council meeting since the local body elections earlier this month.

Along with four new councillors being sworn in, committee chairs were also announced.

Ian Barker will chair the governance committee, Brian McGurk and mayor Rachel Reese will jointly chair planning and regulatory committee, Gaile Noonan will chair community services, Tim Skinner will chair the newly-created sports and recreation committee and Paul Matheson the works and infrastructure committee.

Reese says the councillors are here to serve Nelson.

“I want to say to the community, that I have met with all of the councillors and there is an enthusiasm and energy that inspires me as mayor. These are people that have stepped forward for the right reasons to serve their community. They believe in the goodness of Nelson and the goodness of the people who live here and they want to share in your aspirations and deliver an even better Nelson.”