Kempthorne re-elected as Tasman mayor


Richard Kempthorne has been re-elected as Tasman district mayor for a fourth term after winning Saturday’s local council elections.

The results, which were posted on the Tasman District Council website at 1pm, show that Richard received 6192 votes, with Kit Maling second on 5304 and Maxwell Clark third on 4608.

However, Kit Maling was elected as one of the 13 councillors receiving 2801 votes.  The other candidates who were elected as councillors are Trevor Tuffnell, Dana Wensley and Mark Greening in Richmond, Tim King, Dean McNamara and Anne Turley in Moutere Waimea, Peter Canton, Paul Hawkes and David Ogilvie in Motueka and Sue Brown and Paul Sangster in Golden Bay – Stu Bryant had already been elected unopposed in Lakes-Murchison.

The voter return was 46.13% (16,957 votes), excluding voting papers in transit to the processing centre and special votes.

This result is based upon the counting of approximately 98% of the returned voting papers.  The progress result does not include some special votes and voting papers returned today that are still in transit to the processing centre. The outcome of these elections may change once all voting papers have been counted.



Mayor, Tasman District

Richard Kempthorne     6192

Kit Maling                        5304

Maxwell Clark                 4608


Richmond Ward Councillor (Four members)

Trevor Tuffnell      3070

Dana Wensley       3050

Kit Maling             2801

Mark Greening     2328

Michael Higgins    2206

Wayne Mackey      1886

Murray Dawson    1533

Dennis Gibbs         1013


Moutere/Waimea Ward Councillor (Three members)

Anne Turley             2255

Tim King                  2458

Dean McNamara     1835

Graeme Stradling     1660

Andrew Gould         1341

Gary Watson             927

Richard Osmaston   639


Motueka Ward Councillor (Three members)

David Ogilvie     2162

Peter Canton       2110

Paul Hawkes      1920

Barry Dowler      1855

Martin Lucas       1302


Golden Bay Ward Councillor (Two members)

Sue Brown            1000

Paul Sangster       993

Richard Cox          207

Brian Ensor           681

Bryony Pearson   620

Reg Turner           291


Candidates Elected Unopposed


Lakes/Murchison Ward Councillor (One member)

Stuart Bryant


Motueka Community Board (Four members)

Paul Hawkes

Richard Horrell

Claire Hutt

Brent Maru


Golden Bay Community Board (Four members)

Lynne Ensor

Dave Gowland

Grant Knowles

Abbie Langford