Marty Kain appeals successfully for a LBW decision to dismiss Craig Cachopa during the HRV Cup Twenty20 Cricket match between Auckland Aces and Central Stags at Eden Park's Outer Oval on Tuesday 15 January 2013. Photo: Andrew Cornaga/

Nelson cricketers selected for Central Stags


Two Nelson cricket players have been named to play for the Central Stags in this summer’s domestic cricket competitions.

Thirteen players have been offered contracts with the Devon Hotel Central Stags including Nelson’s Greg Hay and Marty Kain.

Greg is a middle-order batsman from the Waimea Toi Toi United Club while Marty is a spin bowler out of ACOB.

The 13 contracted players will compete in the domestic T20, one day and four day competitions.

The team can also call on NZC contracted players Ross Taylor, Doug Bracewell, Adam Milne and George Worker.


List of contracted players:

Tom Bruce – Taranaki

Dane Cleaver – Manawatu

Greg Hay – Nelson

Marty Kain – Nelson

Andrew Mathieson – Hawke’s Bay

Ryan McCone – Horowhenua Kapiti

Ajaz Patel – Hawke’s Bay

Seth Rance – Wairarapa

Jesse Ryder – Wairarapa

Ben Smith – Wanganui

Blair Tickner – Hawke’s Bay

Ben Wheeler – Marlborough

William Young – Taranaki