South face northern challenge in offroad clash


Nelson is the battleground for the north v south offroad racing clash on Saturday.

The fastest southern racers line up for their first chance to grab points in the 2016 Polaris New Zealand Offroad Racing Championship on Nelson’s new track.

Racing on the new farm-based short track course at Kinzett Creek Road, Tadmore, the southern racers will be looking to fend off an aggressive challenge from the northerners.

Leading the charge for the south are local racers Nevil Basalaj, Ash Kelly and Cam Stratford; all three in the unlimited race car class.

Their northern challenge is also likely to be the racer who travels farthest to compete: Clim-Tristan Lammers is coming from Hikurangi, near Whangarei.

The biggest grid on the day will be in class three for race cars with engines up to 1.6 litres. There, local racers Greg Winn will be battling for class honours and top points with six others including Alex McIndoe, Grant Adamson and experienced Christchurch racer Wayne Moriarty.

The 2016 Nelson Ruff’n’Tuff gets under way at 11.00 am on Saturday.

The new race venue will be signposted from the Kohatu/Tapawera turn-off, south of Wakefield. Spectator admission is $5 per person, $20 per car load with under fives free.


Leading entries in the 2016 Nelson Ruff’n’Tuff


Class one, unlimited race cars

118- Daniel Powell

128- Clim-Tristan Lammers (Hikurangi, Northland)

173-Nevil Basalaj

175- Josh Rutledge

185-Cam Stratford

192- Ash Kelly

4WD Bits class two for production utes and 4WDs

218- Steven John Boyd

250- Ron Crosby

Class three, race cars with engines up to 1650 cc

312- Wayne Moriarty

333- Brendan Old

354- Daniel Rusbatch

371- Greg Winn

375- Grant Adamson

379- Joel Green

399- Alex McIndoe

4WD Bits class four for modified race trucks

444- Darrin Thomason

454- Wayne Wilson

497- Dave Ballantyne

Class five, race cars with engines up to 1300 cc

572- Graham Fleming

577- Clint Densem

V Dub Shoppe class seven

722-Raymond Tavinor

Class eight, unlimited race trucks

829- Martin Vanderwal (Palmerston North)

838- Michael Blackmore

841- Carl Gardner

845-Andrew Johnston

847- Bryan Chang

898- Grant Rosenberg (Palmerston North)

V Dub Shoppe Challenger class

C22 John Strickett

C82-Rob Palmer

C93- Brad Harvey