Record number for Nelson sea swim


The popularity of the Port Nelson Sea Swim series continued on Thursday when a record 162 swimmers took the plunge in the opening race of the 2015-2016 series.

Garin College student Thomas Heaton showed good early season speed to win the long course race held over 800m in 8min 38sec. Thomas led a group of teenaged swimmers home with Waimea College triathlete Hayden Squance second 18 seconds back and last year’s series winner Luke Kelly third in 9min 27sec. Caitlin Delany was the fastest female, finishing fifth overall to win the 16-19 age group in 9min 34sec.

Jody Keefe-Laing was the first non-teenager to finish, winning the men’s 20-29 age group in 9min 44sec. Veterans Hamish Neill (50-59), Jon Linyard (40-49) and Simon Kneebone (40-49) were next.

The sea swims are held every Thursday through the summer. For more information and full results go to