Group appointed to merge EDA and Nelson Tasman Tourism


The former chair of Air New Zealand and Solid Energy will lead a group to oversee the merger of Nelson Tasman Tourism and the Nelson Regional Economic Development Agency into a single organisation.

Waimea West’s John Palmer will head the Transition Group, which will also include Paul Dalzell, Phil Taylor, Martin Byrne and Chris Jackson.

The Transition Group has been appointed following a review of Nelson’s Economic Development Service agencies, which recommended integrating NTT and EDA and creating a new CCO, to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of economic development activities in the region.

“A smooth transition from the current structure to the new body will be crucial for embedding the new organisation. The council has appointed members to the group that we believe will achieve this outcome,” says Nelson mayor Rachel Reese.

The core tasks of the Transition Group are to:

  • To determine the name and structure of the entity to provide economic development services to Nelson including the governance structure and the executive structure
  • To establish a draft constitution of the entity
  • To engage and consult with stakeholders to identify strategic outcomes and priorities for the entity
  • To identify what role the entity should have in venues and events management and promotions
  • To prepare and implement a change management plan to guide the transition to the new arrangements
  • To identify any human resources implications associated to the transition
  • To identify risks and liabilities to Council from the transition and ways of mitigating these
  • To identify legislative requirements with respect to the disestablishment and establishment of Council Controlled Organisations and Council Controlled Trading Organisations.

Mayor Reese was confident the members would be able to achieve the desired result. “This group is well-regarded in their respective fields, and will bring extensive experience in this transition period as we move towards establishing a new organisation.”

“I would also like to thank the current board members and staff of NTT and the EDA, who continue to provide a high level of service.”

Both NTT and EDA will continue until the new organisation is established in July 2016.

The Transition Group will make final recommendations to Council by 17 December 2015.