Tigers win league title


Tahunanui Tigers have been crowned Tasman Rugby League champions after a 30-22 win over Victory Phoenix at Trafalgar Park this afternoon.

The see-sawing match was only decided in the final act of the game, when a Tiger scored in the left-hand corner to give his side a six point lead with time up on the clock.

Both sides threw everything at the game but the Tigers had the better of the final ten minutes and deserved to come away with the win.

Victory scored within the first five minutes of the game before the Tigers came roaring back into the match to take a 20-6 lead after 30 minutes of play. Victory then started its comeback, scoring either side of the half time break and again mid-way through the second half to regain the lead, 22-20.

From there on it was all Tahuna. The Tigers scored a well-worked try in the right hand corner, which gave them the lead, and then keep the throttle on full bore to score the final try.

The win is the Tigers first championship in the competition’s fifth season.


Check out the full gallery of photos from Shuttersport


Full time: Tigers score right on the full time whistle to win the game and this season’s TRL competition. Congratulations Tigers!!!!

3.30pm: One minute to go. Tigers hold a two-point lead!!

3.10pm: Tigers strike back. Unconverted try in the corner to give Tahuna a 24-22 lead.

3.05pm: Victory take the lead! 22-20. 25 minutes to go.


3pm: Victory have stormed back into the game and early in the second half trail Tahuna 20-16.

2.30pm: Tigers have a handy 16-6 lead midway through the first half of the Tasman Rugby League final at Trafalgar Park today.

The Tigers have scored three tries to Victory’s one.