Kiwi authors up for local book awards


Voting has opened to find the winning book for the Nelson Public Libraries’ Fiction Book of 2015.

Home-grown authors are popular with Nelson readers, and with the New Zealand Book Awards skipping a year (the next shortlist is due in March 2016), Nelson Public Libraries have decided to celebrate New Zealand fiction locally.

“It’s an opportunity for everyone to really celebrate our kiwi authors here in Nelson,” says Nelson Libraries Manager, Ian Littleworth.

“We decided we definitely had to showcase some of the great books so far this year, and we think this is a great way to do that.”

Six titles have been shortlisted, with all books published this year:

Chappy by Patricia Grace
Starlight Peninsula by Charlotte Grimshaw
The Writers’ Festival by Stephanie Johnson
James Cook’s Lost World by Graeme Lay
The Hiding Places by Catherine Robertson
The Chimes by Anna Smaill

Online voting is open from Monday 3 August – Monday 12 October with voting also available at all Nelson Public Libraries from Tuesday 1 September – Monday 12 October.

The winner will be announced at an evening event at the Elma Turner Library on Wednesday 21 October.

All voters will go in the draw to win a copy of the winning book, with any entries that include a short review also going in the draw to win a book voucher.