Records Fall at schools athletics champs


Nelson College middle-distance runner, Sam Mackay-Wright, showed he is hitting form at the right time when he won the senior boys 3000m at the Tasman schools athletics champs at Saxton Field.

Sam won last Wednesday’s 3000m in a fast 9min 2.51sec with Marlbough Boys Thomas  Westend second and Nayland’s Dustin Blazek third. Although Sam was five seconds outside his personal best, set when finishing 11th in last year’s national schools champs, he is aiming to improve his PB when he lines up in the South Island champs at Saxton this weekend.

“It was difficult running by myself and I had to push hard on the last two laps,” Sam says. “But it was still a fast race and I’m happy with my form – the aim is to try and get a personal best at the South Islands.”

Nelson College for Girls, Hunta Sutherland (girls under-14) and Evie Strawbridge (under-15 girls), and Nelson College’s Kalan Sheridan (under-15 boys) also won their 3000m races. However, Waimea College’s Bridie Edwards produced the best 3000m of the day setting a new under-16 girls record of 10min 33.03sec.

Hunta also won the under-14 girls 1500m while her schoolmates Georgia Trengrove (under-15) and  Beth Versey (under-16) won their 800-1500 doubles. Thomas Littleworth of Nelson College won the under-16 boys 800m and 1500m.

Nelson College’s Jordan Newsome won the under-14 boys 400m with Culainn Stringer winning the under-19 boys 400m. Nelson College’s Jamie Wilson won the under-14 boys 100m-200m double with Asher Wells taking out the under-19 boys sprints. Nayland College’s Bailey Cotton won the under-16 boys 200m.

Bailey also won the under-16 boys discus and shot put with schoolmate Taylor Boyen winning the girls under-16 discus and javelin. Joseph Ford of Nelson College set a new record to win the boys under-14 discus while Nelson College’s Adam Amber (under-14 boys) and Lennard Precht.(under-16 boys) won their javelin titles.

Other field event winners were: Willow Trolove (Nelson College for Girls, under-15 high jump), Matt Parkinson (Nayland College under-19 boys high jump), Natasha Bannister (Nelson College for Girls under-16 triple jump), Geena Gross (Nelson College for Girls under-19 girls shot put), Dylan Smith (Nelson College under-15 boys shot put) and Darlene Rangiuia (Nayland College under-14 girls shot put).