The Mecury womens basketball team, back row, Nicky Kolk, Becky James, Mere Morgan and Hannah Crabtree, front row, Rosie Barnes, Lisa Book, and Jensen Haua, took out the Nelson Women’s Club Competition on Tuesday. Photo: Supplied.

Mecury win women’s club title


Mercury took out the Nelson Women’s Club Competition on Tuesday night in their toughest basketball game yet.

The team of seven had been undefeated all season but their finals clash against Lynx in the Saxton Stadium was their closest score, finishing 43-41 to take out the competition.

“They were a competitive team,” says Nelson Basketball Association general manager Frances Tilly.

“They’ve got a mix of old heads and new players, they were able to take the ball inside and Lisa Book is always a threat outside the three as well, they had lots of options.”

Team member Rebecca James says the whole team have absolutely loved this season.

“We have always enjoyed it and had each others’ backs. We have only had a small squad so it has been good for us to have plenty of court time together, but quite hard work as well.”

Seasoned athlete Lisa Book and young gun Hannah Crabtree were the two standout players throughout the season.

“Lisa Book is an incredible athlete, she has a three pointer that never fails to make it to the hoop and she’s great at driving the lane when we need it,” says Rebecca.

“Hannah Crabtree is also one of our standouts, she’s an an U17 player who stood up strong and scored consistently each week, her athleticism and calmness has been amazing to watch.”

After dwindling numbers in previous years, the competition, organised by the Nelson Basketball Association, saw an influx of new players this season, around a third of the women hadn’t played in the league before.

“This season has been about getting some ladies back on to the court and giving some younger players exposure to game time in the women’s league that will build a stronger group of women players for seasons to come,” says Rebecca.

Mercury will be presented with the cup on Tuesday, September 12, after the men’s final, also to be played at Saxton Stadium.